McConnell, Schumer re-elected as Senate leaders


Republished with permission by Knowhere News

Kentucky Sen. Mitch McConnell was re-elected as Senate Republican conference majority leader on Wednesday as Democrats voted to maintain New York Sen. Chuck Schumer as minority leader.

Both senators were chosen by voice vote, according to those familiar with private caucus meetings.

Democrats chose to reinstate Schumer’s entire leadership team despite losing several incumbents in the midterms.  Sen. Dick Durbin (IL) was chosen again as minority whip, the second-highest Democrat in the Senate.  Sen. Patty Murray (WA) won another term as assistant leader. Sen. Debbie Stabenow (MI) was re-elected as policy committee chair.

McConnell, 76, who has been involved in Senate leadership for longer than any other Republican, was not contested.  Indeed, he has not been challenged since he took over the leadership role in 2006, according to NPR.

Senate Republicans also promoted Sen. John Thune (SD) to serve as majority whip.  Thune has long been seen as one of the brightest stars in the Senate GOP conference. GOP lawmakers chose Sen. John Barrasso (WY) as the conference chair and selected Sen. Roy Blunt (MO) as the policy chair.


Follow Blog via Email

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Media Bias Fact Check LogoProtecting you from fake news sites since 2015

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

[the_ad id="86448"]